BEING AT PEACE WITH YOURSELF

Selin Nisli
3 min readMar 20, 2021

--

Have you ever felt vulnerable, desperate, or sad? Probably you had. So you know the results. Sometimes people can’t get out of that deep hole but sometimes they do. But how can they do that actually? How can they help themselves? I would like to take about it in my words and maybe, somehow, I can be helpful to you.

I want to start with myself. In my whole life, I always believed in myself. I always knew that there is something that helps me throughout my whole life. Everything I do, I believe or I think became real. I hear you saying “liar, do you want me to believe that, who you’re kidding??” When you think the way you think, of course, you would say that. But I want to explain it to give you a better understanding.

I know myself. Like “really” “know” myself. Deep inside, since I was a kid, I knew what I wanted to do in my life. I knew what I wanted or what I enjoyed the most. I never thought about money or status. I knew what I’m good at and I was sure to follow my feelings. Now, I’m 21 and when I look back, I see that I did everything right. I am so happy and glad right now. Because I am living the life “I” shaped, “I” built, and “I” dreamed. This is my masterpiece. I am the owner of my own life and I am responsible for everything I do. NOT someone else. Of course, my “every” dream didn’t come true. There were some obstacles. But those obstacles were not in my control. So, you can’t step back when your goals don’t come true or when your plans crash. You “have to” keep up with the new order. You have to educate yourself about self-love, goals, and most importantly being at peace with yourself. I had some rough times. And sometimes I still have… It is inevitable. But I learned to deal with them. Do you know how? Here is my secret :)

I LOVE myself. I love my personality, my thoughts, my good, sensitive heart, my dreams, my appearance, my smile, my goals….. My EVERYTHING. Countless of them. I am at peace with myself. And that is the thing. And that is how I overcome my nightmares, my fears.

I read and write a lot about a lot of things. Writing helps me to hear my inner voice. And when I read them out loud, I actually feel like I am talking to a person, in front of me. But that is me and my inner voice. You should DEFINITELY try it if you haven’t tried it before. You will see the magic. Of course, it might not help you as it helped me. But you should try something you have never tried before. Try new things. Here are some of my suggestions for you.

  1. Meditate
  2. Pet and animal
  3. Walk by the sea
  4. Listen to something peaceful
  5. Be alonewith yourself and enjoy it!
  6. Talk to yourself in front of the mirror
  7. A new hobby maybe?
  8. Go out and buy food for a homeless person, maybe try to talk with him/her?
  9. Go somewhere spontaneously
  10. Dance like nobody’s watching :)

Just give it a try or create your own. Don't be at war with yourself. You are the ruler of your own world and If you can’t control yourself, your kingdom will collapse and you will not exist anymore. You wouldn't want that believe me. If you can’t enjoy life, FIND SOMETHING. A life worth living and enjoying! Don’t forget that, ever!

--

--

Selin Nisli

I am new and trying to write about my personal experiences and thoughts on the topics. I might be interesting sometimes so just take a look :)